Adventists for Tomorrow

Our mission is to provide a free and open medium that will assist individuals in forming accurate, balanced, and thoughtful opinions regarding issues within and without the church.

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Due to a large increase in spam, I have frozen forum registration. If you are new to the site and want to register, e-mail me personally at vandolson@gmail.com. Thank you.

#1 05-16-09 10:50 am

tom_norris
Adventist Reform
Website

Luther VS the SDAs (State of the Dead)

Martin Luther vs. SDA’s

Question for Tom Norris:

I am a Seventh Day Adventist and I believe that God has led me to this website to contact you. I am currently an undergraduate student at Augustana College in Rock Island, IL. I am taking a class on Martin Luther, which covers his life, thought, and legacy/influence on more recent theologians. I had decided to take this class because the Great Controversy covers Martin Luther. I believed that if Ellen White thought Luther was important enough to write 2 chapters on him, then his writings should speak Truth. 

Truth, if the SDA church had truth we would be growing in an exponential rate. This is not the case though so I wanted to find the problem. One issue that bothered me was the subject of the Gospel. Every time I asked myself ‘What is the Gospel’ I could never come up with an answer. It was not until after reading a selection of Luther’s texts, I have a sense of what the true gospel is.

Preface to the Epistle of St. Paul to the Romans 1522, revised 1546 proves this to me.  This being a recent event, I still need to read Romans myself.

In the beginning of the term, my professor gave us a heads up for a final project. It was to relate Luther’s writings to anything relating to the present. I decided that because the Seventh Day Adventist church and Martin Luther both claim Sola Scriptura, I would have my project compare and contrast Martin Luther’s Theology with the SDA’s Theology.